When you get injured in an Oklahoma car accident, you may initially be in a state of shock. Once you’ve processed what just happened and taken the time to recover from your injuries, you may decide that filing a claim for compensation is the best way to hold the negligent parties accountable for the injuries you’ve suffered.
When filing a lawsuit in the state of Oklahoma, it’s important to know a few car accident laws on the front end so you can be prepared when heading into court. At Garrett Law Group our lawyers have the experience with car accident cases you want, and we can help maximize your claim value by identifying all liable parties and proving negligence was involved.
Reporting an Oklahoma Car Accident
While this may be an instant reaction, it’s required by law that all parties involved in a car accident immediately notify the police by the quickest form of communication possible after getting in a wreck. You may also be required to submit written proof of what happened to the Department of Public Safety.
Having a police report submitted right after the accident occurs is essential, because when you go to file your claim, whether it’s weeks, months, or a year down the line, you’ll need this evidence to help prove what happened, who was there, what injuries occurred, and who was at fault.
Modified Comparative Negligence in Oklahoma
Another important car accident law to consider is Oklahoma’s modified comparative negligence law. This law will be relevant if you shared fault in your car accident. Oftentimes, injured victims in car accidents are hesitant to file claims against other liable parties because they think they don’t deserve compensation when they shared fault, but this isn’t true.
The modified comparative negligence law allows anyone who was partially at fault for an accident to file for compensation against other liable parties. Once your percentage of fault in the accident is determined, this percentage will be deducted from your final claim amount. For instance, if you’re found to be 30 percent at fault for the crash and your settlement is $80,000, you’ll receive $56,000.
Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations applies to all personal injury claims in Oklahoma and is essential to note when filing your lawsuit. This statute puts a two-year time limit on when you can file your car accident claim. If you don’t file your claim within two years of when your car accident occurred, the Oklahoma court system won’t hear your case, and you won’t receive any compensation for your wreck.
However, if you’re diagnosed with an injury from your car accident at a later date, the statute of limitations will start over and begin on the date of your injury diagnosis.
Garrett Law Group
Oklahoma Car Accident Lawyer
Regardless of what type of accident resulted in your injury, no case is too minor or complicated for our office. Here are some of the common types of cases we handle: driver negligence, impairment, or recklessness, dangerous road conditions rear-end collision, construction zone accident, drunk driving, hit and run accident, etc.
We are also experienced with defective automobiles or parts, such as airbag defect, defective tires, unintended acceleration, child seat defects, crashworthiness, defective seat, window or door, fire or explosion, roof crush, seat belt failures, faulty door latches, etc.
It’s important to know and understand your rights and obligations when you have been injured at the expense of another person. Insurance companies are in the business to make money and are not after your best interest.
The attorneys and staff at Garrett Law Group are here to work with you every step of the way and simplify interactions with the insurance company to ensure you reach a settlement that covers the true cost of your accident.